

To all Members of the Standards Committee

A meeting of the Standards Committee will be held in Warren Room, Lewes House, 32 High Street, Lewes on 29 April 2008 at 14:00 which you are requested to attend.

The venue for this meeting is wheelchair accessible and has an induction loop to help people who are hearing impaired.

21 April 2008

Alan Batty Head of Democratic Services

Agenda

- 1 Election of Chair
 - To elect a Chair for the meeting
- 2 Minutes
 - To approve the Minutes of the meeting held on 1 May 2007 (copy previouslated, attached herewith for information)
- 3 Apologies for Absence
- Disclosure by councillors of personal interests in matters on the Agenda, the nature of any interest and whether the councillor reg the interest as prejudicial under the terms of the Code of Conduc
- Items not on the Agenda which the Chair of the meeting is of the opinion should be considered as a matter of urgency by reason c special circumstances as defined in Section 100B(4)(b) of the Loc Government Act 1972
- To deal with written questions from councillors pursuant to Coun Procedure Rule 11.3 (page D8 of the Constitution)

 None received
- 7 Local Government And Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 Changes to the Work of the Standards Committee

To consider the Report of the District Solicitor and Monitoring Officer

(Report No 85/08 herewith)

8 Composition of Standards Committees

To consider the Report of the District Solicitor and Monitoring Officer (Report No 86/08 herewith)

9 Standards Committee – Procedure for Standards Hearings

To consider the Report of the District Solicitor and Monitoring Officer (Report No 87/08 herewith)

10 Training Exercise

A Training Exercise is attached to agendas for Committee members who are requested to bring their copies of the Code of Conduct to the meeting for use in conjunction with this Item

For further information about items appearing on this Agenda, please contact

David Feintuck at Lewes House, 32 High Street, Lewes, East Sussex, BN7 2LX

Telephone: Lewes (01273) 484201

Distribution:

Councillors I Eiloart, A T Jones, D H Mitchell, E E J Russell and R Sinclair;

Mr G R Eysenck,

Mr E P O Mercer and Mrs J Redman (Independent members); Councillors B Clutterbuck and C Terry (Town and Parish Council members)